911 Board

State 911 Office

The Statewide 9-1-1 Board replaced the wireless 9-1-1 board on July 1, 2012. The board is a quasi-state government agency established by IC 36-8-16.7 and operates under the Indiana Treasurer's Office. It has statewide jurisdiction over 9-1-1 services. It's chair, by statute, is an elected official - the state treasurer. The board's two primary responsibilities include collecting surcharges from all communication service providers and distributing the funding to local units of government, as well as the operation of a statewide public safety ESInet for 9-1-1 calls.

The board comprises of thirteen members;

  • three PSAP representatives
  • one county sheriff
  • one county commissioner
  • one municipal
  • one large LEC
  • one small LEC
  • one VOIP provider
  • one CMRS provider
  • state fire marshal
  • superintendent of state police
  • state treasurer
Appointees serve at the pleasure of the Governor.

For information about a specific area of interest, please contact:

Indiana Statewide 911 Board
10 West Market Street, Suite 2950
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
O: (317) 234-8362
F: (317) 233-0894
Barry Ritter, ENP - Executive Director


Laurel Simmermeyer - Assistant Director


Board Members


The Honorable Kelly Mitchell
Treasurer of Indiana


Terri Brooks
White County 911

Ed Reuter
Bartholomew 911

Brad Meixell
Clark County E911

Doug Carter
Indiana State Police

James Greeson
State Fire Marshal

Tracy Brown
Indiana Sheriff's Association

Kevin Overmyer
Association of County Commissioners

Keith Galey
Cincinnati Bell

Greg Hohlier

Greg Gomolka

Wesley Bennett
Town of Plainfield

Stephen Reid
Verizon Wireless

Meeting Notice

Please note the date for the Statewide 9-1-1 Board of Directors meeting:




Kelly Mitchell

Additional notices will be added as they become available

Wireline & Wireless Surcharge

Who Pays for 911?

  • 911 is a local service, provided by the counties, cities and towns, (who provide mutual funding assistance through cooperative inter-local agreements).

  • The state collects end user surcharges (90¢ for landline and wireless phones, and 50¢ for pay-as-you-go wireless handsets. This funding operates the statewide 911 network and is an aid to funding 911 service within the 92 counties.

What does the state 911 office do?

The state 911 program office:

  1. Administers the collection and distribution of 911 funding assistance from the state to local level.
  2. Oversees the operation of the statewide 911 network, which routes and delivers wireless 911 voice and text messages from the public to the local 911 authority.
  3. Provides information about improvements in 911 service to the local 911 authorities.
  4. Ensures that essential services are available on a statewide basis for things like 911 call transfer, language translation and that originating service providers (phone companies) have direct access to the statewide network.
  5. Ensures that new technology is available and widely deployed to meet the public's expectations -- and to meet the individual needs for all residents and visitors to Indiana.

Where can I learn more about the IN911 project?

The Indiana 911 (IN911) program is recognized as an industry leading program with proven results. It is one of the most advanced emergency services inter-networks (ESiNets) in the United States.

Prepaid Wireless Surcharge

Effective, July 1, 2012, all retail merchants in Indiana who sell prepaid wireless telephone services (through the sale of a prepaid phone or prepaid phone card) now must collect $.50 per sales transaction. This is an increase from $.25 per sales transaction, which has been in effect since July 1, 2010.

The fee, known as the Prepaid 911 Enhancement Fee, will ensure Indiana complies with 911 requirements set down by the Indiana General Assembly. This is the result of an Indiana law (IC 36-8-16.6-14) passed during the 2010 legislative session.

Additional Resources

FAQ Prepaid Wireless Fee (Indiana Department of revenue)

Commissioner's Directive #39 (Indiana Department of revenue)